Nicholas Scott-Burt


  In Progress...


Minimalis Project:


A long term project begun in 2016, to compose (perhaps) eight interconnected works, each of which may stand alone as a complete entity, but which as a sequence (the order of which may be flexible) creates a cohesive whole.


Each piece is derived from quasi-minimalist techniques of repetition and micro-variation, this becoming the fabric of works which are robustly symphonic in their structure, rigorously proportioned and architected.


Each is envisaged as a solo or chamber piece. Minimalis I for solo piano was composed in 2016, initially as an experiment in the structural techniques. A Mikrokonzert for piano and eight instruments (Minimalis II) followed, and recently completed (June 2017) is Minimalis III, a Concerto for Flute & Harp and seven instruments, composed for flautist Lisa Nelsen and harpist Eleanor Turner.


Click the links below for some sample pages, and on the arrows for a CG clip.

Minimalis I Minimalis II Minimalis III Arrow white small Arrow white small Arrow white small

Double click to insert body text here ...

Double click to insert body text here ...