Dances in Miniature

for Alto Saxophone and strings (or piano)

Composed in 2020, but based on some clarinet pieces I wrote in 2000, these three short movements are entitled Intrada, Berceuse, and Hornpipe.

Making use of irregular time signatures and quirky rhythms, they nevertheless maintain the characters of the dances implied by their titles. There is more than a passing homage to Finzi's Five Bagatelles for clarinet here, so it is much in my post-romantic idiom - I like to think of this short suite as a three-movement encore!

Listen on Soundcloud (click the title):






© Nicholas Scott-Burt 2021. Proudly created with

The artwork on this website is to the best of my knowledge in the public domain. If you you know differently please contact me.

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • LinkedIn Clean Grey